Dragonese Day

6 Oct

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Howdeedoodee there! Today we took part in Dragonese Day, an exciting national event linked to the ‘ How to Train Your Dragon’ Series by Cressida Cowell. We started the day by dressing as Vikings (children and teacher alike) and spent the day with a dragon in the class. No really, we did. We changed all our names to Viking names and had great fun forgetting our own and each other’s new names. Shields were made, swords were confiscated, we learned a new language: Dragonese. We linked up to an author event at Scottish Book Trust and had a virtual visit from Cressida Cowell, who told us of the inspiration behind the ‘How to train your Dragon’ series (we loved hearing about how she comes up with ideas for writing). We learned about Vikings, we read about dragons, we talked about being true to yourself. We also created our own story maps and interesting characters for story writing. We barely stopped for lunch, creating a Viking song in our lunchtime! We finished a perfect day by watching the ‘How to Train Your Dragon’ film. I don’t know about you, but I am zuzzready!

Listen to our Viking Song entitled: ‘Really Bad Vikings’ here

To have a go at training your own dragon click here

Learn to write Dragonese here

A Hero’s Guide to Deadly Dragons

5 Responses to “Dragonese Day”

  1. justine October 6, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    dragonese day was awesome . I really liked it !!!!

  2. Shola October 7, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I’m with you on that one Justine, Dragonese day rocked!

  3. Emily October 18, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    I loved dragonese day !! It was fantastic learning dragon language and dressing up in cloaks and changing our names !! 🙂

  4. hannah October 18, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    It sounded really fun, but I was on holiday on Thursday. I wish it could happen again so I could join in.

  5. Shola October 19, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I played the song for my wee sis to hear and now she makes me play it every single time I’m on my computer! My little sister is definitely our biggest fan (LOL) 🙂

Leave a Reply

